
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin (ZAL10-17986)
The Canadian PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin (ZAL10-17986) is a rotating connected litter box for cats up to 11 kg, with a 6 L waste drawer.
#ad · Paid linkDecision in 30 seconds
Is this the right model for you?
Four exact-model points to review before opening the complete technical record.
Ideal for
Informational fit where app-based usage and weight tracking matter and the cat remains within the verified maximum.
Why choose it
The 6 L waste drawer is marketed for up to two weeks, but real intervals vary by cat count and use.
Avoid it if this does not work for you
Confirm the cat’s minimum safe automatic-cycle weight with PetSafe before use; it is not stated on the reviewed page.
Main limitation
Measure the available space and verify the 30.5 cm low-profile access statement against the cat’s mobility.
Official demonstration
See it in action
Play the exact-model video here without leaving RoboStead.
Verified facts
What the reviewed evidence establishes
- Exact code
- ZAL10-17986
- Maximum cat weight
- 11 kg
- Waste drawer
- 6 L
- Connectivity
- 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Litter guidance
- Premium clumping recommended
What stands out
The useful differences
- The 6 L waste drawer is marketed for up to two weeks, but real intervals vary by cat count and use.
- The official page recommends premium clumping litter for best performance.
- Usage and weight tracking require a compatible 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi setup.
Decision checks
Before choosing this exact model
- Confirm the cat’s minimum safe automatic-cycle weight with PetSafe before use; it is not stated on the reviewed page.
- Measure the available space and verify the 30.5 cm low-profile access statement against the cat’s mobility.
- Treat the two-week waste claim as a maximum scenario, not a maintenance guarantee.
Independent research record
Useful record with open questions
This assessment cross-checks the exact Canadian identity, official documentation, compatible parts and purchase constraints. A manufacturer claim, an independent measurement and an owner report are never presented as the same kind of evidence.
What is established
- 5 exact-model facts are published with their limits visible.
- 1 official source(s) can be opened from this record.
- An exact Canadian buying route is identified at Amazon.ca.
What remains uncertain
- RoboStead has not measured cleaning, navigation, noise, battery life or long-term reliability in its own laboratory.
- 3 purchase decision check(s) remain visible instead of being estimated.
- Repeated owner complaints are added only when the exact model and the pattern can be documented; isolated anecdotes are not converted into facts.
Ownership reality
- Cat acceptance: Entry height, interior space, noise and a gradual transition decide whether the cat will actually use the machine.
- Cleaning workload: A waste cycle does not remove the need to wipe sensors, wash the drum and control litter tracked outside the box.
- Supplies and service: Price liners, filters, deodorizers and a possible oversized return before committing to a proprietary system.
Outside evidence, clearly attributed
What external evidence adds to the official record
These observations come from the named publishers, not from a RoboStead hands-on test. We keep the useful result and its limitation together.
Cats.com
Cats.com found setup and the app simple, the entrance generous and the rotating sifter unusually effective at moving large clumps into the waste drawer.
The claimed two-week waste interval depends on one cat, litter choice and output. It should be treated as a maximum-use scenario rather than a fixed maintenance schedule.
Apartment Therapy
In a small apartment, the reviewer found that the SmartSpin removed daily scooping and that its compact, furniture-like shape was easier to live with than adding a separate enclosure.
That experience reflects one cat and a limited observation window. It does not establish multi-cat capacity, long-term motor reliability or universal acceptance of the enclosed opening.
Before you buy
Check for your home
Exact packageMatch the model and included accessories
Canadian coverageConfirm the seller and warranty
Current termsCheck price, stock and returns
Verification
Official sources
Record history
What was checked in this edition
- Evidence review
- 2026-08-29
- Published facts
- 5
- Official links
- 1
- Canadian buying route
- Verified · Amazon.ca
Your next step
Move from this record to a confident decision
5 facts are verified for this exact model. Compatibility still depends on your space, routine and constraints.

